Long Count: A John Q Mystery

Author(s): Jm Gulvin

Crime Fiction | No Category

In The Long Count, the first book of JM Gulvin's masterful new crime series, we meet Ranger John Quarrie as he is called to the scene of an apparent suicide by a fellow war veteran. Although the local police want the case shut down, John Q is convinced that events aren't quite so straightforward.


When his hunch is backed up by the man's son, Isaac - just back from Vietnam, and convinced his father was murdered - they start to look into a series of other violent incidents in the area, including a recent fire at the local Trinity Asylum and the disappearance of Isaac's twin brother, Ishmael. In a desperate race against time, John Q has to try and unravel the dark secrets at the heart of this family and get to the truth before the count is up...


Dripping with atmosphere and a sense of time and place, The Long Count is a page-turner and a psychological puzzle - for fans of Shutter Island and True Detective.

$8.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
32

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A Texas Ranger. A burnt out asylum. A disputed suicide.

Born in the UK, JM Gulvin divides his time between Wales and the western United States. He is the author of many previous novels, as well as Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman's bestselling travel book Long Way Down. The Long Count is his first John Q mystery and he is currently at work on the follow up. He is married and has two daughters.

General Fields

  • : 9780571323784
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • : Faber Faber
  • : May 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jm Gulvin
  • : Paperback
  • : 288