The Heart of Everything

Author(s): Henrietta McKervey

Fiction | No Category

The Heart of Everything is a taut and compelling account of the nature of family relationships and the uneasy grasp of the past over the present. Perfect for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell. Mags Jensen begins her day as she always does - with a list. Once it is complete, she lays the table for lunch, spritzes perfume on her wrists and shuts the front door behind her. That afternoon, her daughter Anita is irritated to discover the house empty. But as afternoon turns to evening, irritation turns to fear, her mother's recent tests for early-stage dementia looming in Anita's mind. As the hours tick by with no word from Mags, the siblings are summoned home to join the search. Over several days, old tensions rise to the surface, harking back to an earlier tragedy that splintered the family. Powerful revelations take hold between the siblings, and their efforts to find Mags become increasingly frantic, as they are forced to ask: will they ever see their mother again?

$10.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
41

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Henrietta McKervey was born in Belfast and now lives in Dublin with her husband and two young children. Having worked as an advertising and design copywriter for several years, she completed an MFA in Creative Writing in UCD, and was the winner of the inaugural Maeve Binchy Travel Award in 2014. Her first novel, What Becomes of Us, was published in 2015. The Heart of Everything is her second novel. @hmckervey www.henriettamckervey.com

General Fields

  • : 9781444794175
  • : Hachette Ireland
  • : Hachette Ireland
  • : January 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Henrietta McKervey
  • : Paperback
  • : 320