The Truth Commissioner

Author(s): David Park

Fiction | No Category | October 2020

Henry Stanfield, the newly arrived Truth Commissioner, is troubled by his estrangement from his daughter, and struggling with the consequences of his infidelities. Francis Gilroy, veteran Republican and recently appointed government minister, risks losing what feels tantalisingly close to his grasp. In America, Danny and his partner plan for the arrival of their first child, happily oblivious to what is about to pull him back to Belfast and rupture the life they have started together. Retired detective James Fenton, on his way to an orphanage in Romania with a van full of supplies, will soon be forced to confront what he has come to think of as his betrayal, years before, of a teenage boy. In a society trying to heal the scars of the past with the salve of truth and reconciliation, these four men's lives become linked in a way they could never have imagined.

$10.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
57

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

An important novel from an authoritative voice of post-Troubles Northern Ireland. Shortlisted for the Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award, Irish Novel of the Year Award and the Christopher Ewart-Biggs Prize. A Radio 4 Book at Bedtime For fans of JM Coetzee, Ian McEwan, John McGahern and Bernard MacLaverty Swallowing the Sun and The Big Snow have been rejacketed to tie in with the new look

David Park has written six books, most recently the hugely acclaimed Swallowing the Sun. He was the winner of the Authors' Club First Novel Award, the Bass Ireland Arts Award for Literature and a twice winner of the University of Ulster's McCrea Literary Award. In June 2008 he was awarded the American Ireland Fund Literary Award for his contribution to Irish literature. He lives in County Down, Northern Ireland with his wife and two children.

General Fields

  • : 9780747596332
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : February 2009
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : David Park
  • : Paperback
  • : 384