The Complete Polysyllabic Spree

Author(s): Nick Hornby

Literary theory

The Complete Polysyllabic Spree is Nick Hornby's wickedly funny journey through reading. This is not a book of reviews. This not a book that sneers at other books. This is a book about reading - about enjoying books wherever and however you find them. Nick Hornby, author of the bestsellers About a Boy and Fever Pitch - takes us on a hilarious and perceptive tour through the books he bought, the books he read and his thoughts on literature. He is first and foremost a reader and he approaches books like the rest of us: hoping to pick up one he can't put down. The Complete Polysyllabic Spree is a diary of sorts, charting his reading life over two years. It is a celebration of why we read - its pleasures, its disappointments and its surprises. And above all, it is for you - the ever hopeful reader. For fans of Bill Bryson and Stephen Fry, and for bookworms eveywhere, this witty, passionate book will make you cherish the world of letters anew. "An engaged and engaging ramble around one reader's mind." (The Times). "Not only does it make you want to read more but, like all great books, it's also terrific company." (Metro). "For anyone whose idea of a good time is arguing with friends about their favourite books...amusing and contagiously enthusiastic." (Big Issue).

$10.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
1


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Nick Hornby is the author of six bestselling novels (High Fidelity, About a Boy, How To Be Good, A Long Way Down, Juliet, Naked), a novel for young adults, Slam, and four works of acclaimed non-fiction: Fever Pitch, 31 Songs, The Complete Polysyllabic Spree and Stuff I've Been Reading. A Long Way Down, About a Boy, High Fidelity and Fever Pitch have all been made into major films. He also wrote the screenplay for the Oscar-nominated An Education, as well as those for Cheryl Strayed's Wild, starring Reese Witherspoon, and Colm Toibin's Brooklyn. His most recent novel is Funny Girl and he is currently writing the script for the BBC adaptation of Nina Stibbe's bestselling memoir Love, Nina.

General Fields

  • : 9780241969854
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : June 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Nick Hornby
  • : Paperback
  • : 288