The Complete History of Black Sabbath - What Evil Lurks

Author(s): Joel McIver


The complete illustrated history of the band that made metal. Originally started as a blues rock band in 1968, Black Sabbath formed in Birmingham, by guitarist and main songwriter Tony Iommi, bassist and main lyricist Geezer Butler, singer Ozzy Osbourne, and drummer Bill Ward. The group soon adopted the Black Sabbath moniker and became the pioneers of heavy metal music with such released as "Black Sabbath," "Paranoid," and "Master of Reality." In" The Complete History of Black Sabbath: What Evil Lurks," author Joel McIver explores the complete history of Sabbath from the band's early years experimenting with new sounds and laying the groundwork for an entirely new music genre, to Ozzy's dismissal in 1979 after years battling alcohol and drug abuse. Covering the years with Ronnie James Dio, Ozzy's re-entry into the band in the 90s, through their last tour in 2016, this true and complete history is a must-have for any heavy metal fan.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Joel McIver is the bestselling author of Justice for All: The Truth About Metallica which has been translated into 9 languages. He has written for Rolling Stone, The Guardian, Metal Hammer, Classic Rock, and he is the occasional guest on BBC. He is currently the editor of Bass Guitar magazine. Classic Rock magazine has called him "by some distance Britain's most prolific hard rock/metal author." He wrote the official biography of the world's biggest death metal band, Cannibal Corpse and co-wrote Megadeath's bio from bass player David Ellefson.

General Fields

  • : 9781631062728
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : November 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : hardback
  • : 240
  • : Joel McIver