Leningrad: Siege and Symphony

Author(s): Brian Moynahan

No Category

Shostakovich's Seventh Symphony was first played in the city of its birth on 9 August, 1942. There has never been a first performance to match it. Pray God, there never will be again. Almost a year earlier, the Germans had begun their blockade of the city. Already many thousands had died of their wounds, the cold, and most of all, starvation. The assembled musicians - scrounged from frontline units and military bands, for only twenty of the orchestra's 100 players had survived - were so hungry, many feared they'd be too weak to play the score right through. In these, the darkest days of the Second World War, the music and the defiance it inspired provided a rare beacon of light for the watching world. Setting the composition of Shostakovich's most famous work against the tragic canvas of the siege itself and the years of repression and terror that preceded it, Leningrad: Siege and Symphony is a magisterial and moving account of one of the most tragic periods in history.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Brian Moynahan's last biography was the bestselling Jungle Soldier. His other books include the award-winning Russian Century, Comrades, The British Century, Forgotten Soldiers and the much-praised William Tyndale: If God Spare My Life. As a foreign correspondent, he covered jungle fighting in the Far and Middle East and Africa, and was latterly the European Editor of the Sunday Times.

General Fields

  • : 9780857383020
  • : Quercus Publishing Plc
  • : Quercus Publishing Plc
  • : October 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Brian Moynahan
  • : Paperback
  • : 576